Australia Weather, Seasons & Time Zones: Useful Information You Need to Know

When studying English in Australia, it’s important to gather useful information about the country to make your life easier. Let’s look at some information you will need to know during your experience here, including weather, seasons and time zones.




Weather, seasons


The Sydney Region has a mild climate, especially in winter, but be aware that the weather is subject to quick changes. Each day may be a combination of seasons, so be prepared for rain, heat, or cold, wind and sunshine all in the one day. Perhaps you should carry an umbrella and something warm. Listen to the weather forecasts carefully.


Sydney has four seasons:

  • Summer – from December to February. This is the hottest time of the year and is often very humid. At this time of the year, you need to be sure that you drink plenty of water to avoid heat exhaustion, wear a 30+ sunscreen to keep you from getting sunburnt and possibly developing skin cancer, and wear a hat when outdoors. Temperatures range from an average of 22 degrees Celsius at night to 35 degree Celsius (and hotter) during the day.
  • Autumn – from March to May. The weather begins to cool down but it is often still warm during the day. Temperatures range from 16 degrees Celsius at night to 24 degrees Celsius during the day.
  • Winter – from June to August. Winter is usually cool and dry. Temperatures are mild, ranging from 10 degrees Celsius at night to 24 degrees Celsius during the day.
  • Spring – from September to November. The weather quickly grows warmer during spring. At night, temperatures range from 14 degrees Celsius to 20 degrees Celsius. Days are much warmer, averaging 20 degrees Celsius in September to 25 degrees Celsius in November.

Time zones


There are four time zones in Australia:

  • Eastern Standard Time (EST), which includes New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory; EST = GMT + 10
  • Central Standard Time (CST), which includes South Australia and the Northern Territory, this one is the most curious of all as many visitors to Australia have never heard of half hour time zones before and think you are trying to fool them.
  • Western Standard Time (WST) - Western Australia. CST is one half hour behind EST, while WST is two hours behind EST.
  • Western Central Time (WCT) if you thought the half hour time zone above was a joke, then how about this quarter hour time zone! This unofficial time zone is only observed in South Australia and only affects a few people in tiny towns along the Nullarbor, the Northern Territory which lies directly above does not observe this time zone. Only two other places in this world bother with quarter hour time zones; Nepal and the Chatham Island (New Zealand).

Things get even more complicated when some states change to daylight savings and some do not, Queensland and Northern Territory do not participate in this.


Daylight Saving Time (DST) starts on the first Sunday in October at 02:00:00 am when local clocks are set forward 1 hour. DST ends on the first Sunday in April at 03:00:00 am when local clocks are set backward 1 hour.